DIY Cork Board Calendar

As a college athlete balancing 5 classes, practices & games, two jobs, an internship, family, friends, and a boyfriend I found these last few months almost impossible. My weeks were packed with events way in advance, I could barely find time to sleep, and I started drinking two coffees a day.

Two coffees a day might not sound like a big deal to some of you, but I’ve never liked coffee, so it’s a big deal for me.

I’ve used a planner since high school, but with days jam packed full of things I found myself needing a bigger space to write things, I also wanted to be able to see my whole month because I’m a very visual person. I decided that instead of spending money on a calendar (I may work two part time jobs but I’m still broke) I would just make one instead. I only spent a little bit under $2 on this DIY, however, I already had an old cork board laying around and a stack of 200 post-its sitting in my drawer. I guess if you just want something simple you can buy a calendar, (Walmart has some magnetic ones for less than $10) but if you happen to have an old cork board laying around and some post-its, or if you just like DIYs, then you should give this one a try!

  • First thing you’re going to want to do is measure out your space, I did this by tacking ribbon to one side of the board then stretching it to the other side, then I hot glued the ribbons at all the ends and intersections.
  • Next, I printed out the days of the week, cut them out, and hot glued them in their appropriate spot.

Hot Tip: You can download your own fonts for FREE at DaFont.com

  • I also printed out the month and tacked it to the board. (Don’t hot glue the month because you’ll want to replace it every month… duh.)
  • At first I only had colorful tacks laying around, so I put one in each box and wrote the number of the month on the post-it until I went to Walmart and bought some push pins. Once I had those I painted them white (black at first but then changed my mind and painted them white instead) and wrote 1-31 on them with a Sharpie.

I only put post-its on days that I have things going on, at first I used different colored post-its but then I switched to just one color.

The best part about this DIY is you can make it as colorful and busy as you want. Personally, I wanted mine to be kind of simple and plain, but maybe next month I’ll make it a little more fun since school will finally be over! Feel free to leave some ideas for my May calendar in the comment section!

AmandaShowsYouUpdate

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

