Guiltless Gluten Free Muffins

A few years ago my mom discovered that she’s allergic to gluten, for those of you who don’t know what gluten is it’s basically anything that has flour in it. As you can imagine, there’s not a lot of yummy gluten free snacks in the world, that’s why whenever I get the chance I like to make my mom some delicious gluten free treats that she can enjoy guilt free. 

Today my mom went in for an outpatient surgery, she’s doing great, but this felt like the perfect opportunity to whip something up in the kitchen. I didn’t hesitate to look for a gluten free recipe on Pinterest, what did I decide on?

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Muffins

That’s right, a quick and easy breakfast my mom can indulge on tomorrow morning. Now I have to give credit to Well Plated by Erin because I definitely didn’t come up with this on my own. For those of you who are wondering, these gluten free muffins are actually pretty healthy for you, as healthy as chocolate chips can get at least.

FullSizeRender 3

Since it was my first time making this recipe I did face a couple of challenges. First, it wasIMG_2949 hard to get everything to blend together easily, but that’s probably because my blender is pretty small. Second, I filled the cupcake liners up too high and had to spoon some out before putting the pan in the oven. This resulted in my first batch coming out looking a little rough, but my second batch came out looking super clean. Sadly, my second batch consisted of only four muffins, however, both batches came out tasting delicious. The last challenge I faced is kind of a downside to this recipe, even though I sprayed my cupcake liners with nonstick spray they still stick to the muffin. This kind of sucks because you can’t get a pretty muffin without the liner, but the muffins still taste killer so it’s a flaw I’m more than willing to forgive.

Due to the gluten free nature of these muffins they don’t turn out like the crumbly muffins most people are use to, instead they’re more gooey and moist. Personally, I think they’re delicious and I would eat them any day and every day. I’m glad that my mom enjoyed them too. She walked into my room as I was writing this with a muffin in her mouth and hand to tell me how delicious they came out and to “please hide some from dad.”

Go ahead and give this recipe a try, I would definitely recommend these muffins to those who are allergic to gluten, but also to those who are trying to eat healthier. Let me know how you like them! Also, if anyone has any solutions to the cupcake liner problem please feel free to let me know!

The Recipe:IMG_2942IMG_2935

  • 2 cups oats
  • 2 bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

Blend it all together then add chocolate chips!

AmandaShowsYouUpdate

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

